## *I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

## Resolution No. 71 (LS) As amended.

Introduced by:

Mark Forbes Frank F. Blas, Jr. <u>Edward J.B. Calvo</u> James V. Espaldon Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio David L.G. Shimizu A. R. Unpingco Ray Tenorio J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating the members of the "46<sup>th</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association" as they assume office for the 2007 - 2008 Academic year; and to thanking the members and advisors of the "45<sup>th</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association" for their service during the 2006 - 2007 Academic year.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the 2007 - 2008 Academic year brings with it a new group
of students tasked with ensuring that students have a voice in the mission of
the University of Guam; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 46<sup>th</sup> University of Guam Student
Government Association (SGA) include Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon
Guerrero II, President; Darlene Mae Vigil, Vice-President; Danny L. Harrell,
Treasurer; Aubrey Manglona Hocog, Secretary; Zard Eli J. Apuya, Jason G.
Aradanas, Brian A. Biacan, Remylynn M. Burlaza, Artemio R. Hernandez,
Angelica Topasna Mantanona, Christina P. Martinez, Ann Catherine D.
Villaluz, and Kay Francis Rivera Yamashita, Senators; and

8 WHEREAS, these students will carry on the work of past student 9 governments while ensuring that the students' voices will be heard and that 10 the creation of improved educational programs continues; and

WHEREAS, the 46<sup>th</sup> UOG Student Government Association (SGA), as stated in the Association's preamble, will practice the principles of democracy, provide services, coordinate activities for UOG students, and encourage cultural unity between University of Guam and the island-community; and

WHEREAS, the members of the 45<sup>th</sup> Guam Student Government 15 16 Association (SGA) included: Michael Bumagat, President; Bernard Cruz, Vice 17 President; Maria Sayo, Treasurer; Krystal B. Junsay, Secretary; and Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II, Interim President; Darlene Mae Vigil, 18 19 Interim Vice-President; Danny L. Harrell, Interim Treasurer; Christina P. Martinez, Interim Secretary; and Mark Alviz, Eliza Anderson, Zard Eli J. 20 21 Apuya, Chester Bataclan, Brian A. Biacan, Frank Lee Borja, Remylynn M. 22 Burlaza, Joann E. Escalante, Artemio R. Hernandez, Aubrey Manglona Hocog, 23 Glen Leon Guerrero, Angelica Topasna Mantanona, Pamela Pineda, John  $\mathbf{24}$ Francis Saavedra, Angela Sablan, Charles Santos, and Ann Catherine D. Villaluz, Senators; and 25

WHEREAS, the advisors of the 45<sup>th</sup> UOG Student Government
Association, who will continue to guide the 46<sup>th</sup> UOG Guam Student
Government Association include Dr. Richard Matheny, Professor of Political
Science; Dr. Ansito Walter, Professor of Public Administration; Dr. Michael
Griffin, Communications & Fine Arts; and Dr. Annette Santos,
Management/Marketing; and

WHEREAS, through their experience with the SGA and the education
they attain at UOG, the Guam Student Government Association members of
today are destined to become the leaders of tomorrow; now, therefore, be it

10 **RESOLVED,** that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does 11 hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, congratulate the members of the 46th 12 University of Guam Student Government Association, and wish them great 13 success during the 2007 - 2008 Academic year; and be it further

14 **RESOLVED**, that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does 15 hereby, on behalf the people of Guam, thank the members and advisors of the 16 45th University of Guam Student Government Association for their service, 17 commitment, and diligence during the 2006 - 2007 Academic year; and be it 18 further

19 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 20 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 21 thereafter transmitted to Mr. Benjamin Franklin Aguon Leon Guerrero II, 22 President, 46th University of Guam Student Government Association; to the 23 members of the 46<sup>th</sup> University of Guam Student Government Association; to 24 Mr. Michael Bumagat, President, 45th University of Guam Student 25 Government Association; to the members of the 45<sup>th</sup> University of Guam

- 1 Student Government Association; to the advisors of the 45<sup>th</sup> and 46<sup>th</sup> Student
- 2 Government Association; to Dr. Harold L. Allen, President, University of
- 3 Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

## DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE $20^{TH}$ DAY OF AUGUST 2007.

**XK FORBES** RAY TENORIO M ∠Senator and Speaker Secretary of the Legislature